Go gluten-free

GO GLUTEN-FREE WITH DIETBOX

by Christine Barakat Abou Aoun

Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat and other grains, including barley and rye and processed foods and oats that have been contaminated by wheat through processing. There are many reasons as to why a person would avoid gluten. The number one reason would be Celiac Disease. Another reason is due to gluten intolerance.

Getting the diet right is easy when you know the ground rules.

Here is a list of gluten-free diet foods:

  • Beans, seeds, nuts in their natural, unprocessed form
  • Fresh eggs
  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Most dairy products
  • Corn, rice, potatoes, quinoa, millet, buckwheat and tapioca
  • Gluten free flours (rice, corn and potato)

In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grains:

  • Beer
  • Breads
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Pastas
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Soups and soup bases
No comments

LEAVE A COMMENT